Day With A Local team member
This user account status is Approved

This user has not added any information to their profile yet.

Finland
German, English, Finnish

Hallo! I host Day With A Local guests in German and English in the Helsinki region.

A warm welcome to Helsinki! I would be happy to introduce my hometown and its surroundings to you. I was born in Helsinki and spent my youth there. I returned to the Helsinki region at the beginning of the century after having lived several years in Germany. Today I live in Espoo, a city next to Helsinki.

When I heard about the Day with A Local concept, I got interested right away. This impression has just become stronger when meeting guests: Day With A Local concept offers the possibility to get to know the city from a different point of view than during the standard tours which have a certain set script and nothing personal. I have experienced very rewarding discussions about various topics with my guests, and these conversations have often surprised me as well!

I appreciate the Finnish nature, the countless islands and lakes around Helsinki, the national parks around the capital area, e.g Nuuksio and Haltia, the Finnish Nature Center. And there is a lot of vegetation even in the center of Helsinki.

I would like to introduce you to the foodstuffs you can find from the clean Finnish nature. The Everyman’s rights gives anyone the permission to use the remedies of nature. I am an avid fisherman myself, as well as a mushroom, herbs and berry picker and naturally use all these ingredients in my kitchen.

I am interested in architecture and city planning and its role in changing times of history. I also like to visit exhibitions, museums and art galleries. Depending on your own interests and preferences, we can focus during your Day With A Local  on things and activities which you are most interested in. I will introduce you to the daily life and customs. Please tell me your special wishes and I will do my best to execute them as much as possible.

It is a pleasure for me to present my home region to people of all ages from children to grandparents in German and English. I am looking forward to meeting you soon! I have been hosting Day With A Local guests in Helsinki since spring 2017 and I am taking bookings all year-round (subject to availability).